On August 12th, the ”Fast Friday” program returned to the Seekonk Speedway for an action packed night of entry level racing. The Seekonk Youth Racing Association 600 and 750 classes, the Sport Four division, the Allison Legacy North Series, and Pure Stocks, took to the “Action Track of the East,” and Curtis Rolando, Kaitlyn Donovan, Rich Sprague, James Logan, and John Robidoux notched the victories.

The SYRA 600s took the green flag first. Trouble struck early in the first heat race, resulting in a yellow flag on the second lap for spin by rookie Brooke Meservey in turn four. In the fifth lap, the caution flag unfurled for an incident involving another Meservey spin due to contact with the leader Taylor Bowser while attempting to stay on the lead lap. On the restart, Taylor Bowser held off Curtis Rolando for the win.

In the second eight lap heat, the yellow flag was displayed for another incident on the second lap, a spin by Matt Barboza in turn four. Shelby Donovan maintained the lead on the restart, but Chase Belcher dove to the inside of turn one and snagged the lead on the final lap to pick up the victory.

In the feature, Taylor Bowser sat on the pole and led the sixteen laps of the race. However, with four laps to go, Taylor Bowser dropped to the rear of the field setting up a four lap sprint to the finish between Curtis Rolando and Austin Blais. Rolando held on to his ground on the inside line, and despite the rookie’s best efforts to surpass the points leader on the outside, Rolando obtained the victory by .050 seconds, less than a half car length.

The SYRA 750 division was led by Kaitlyn Donovan. In the first heat, Donovan passed pole sitter Tylar Nailor on the first lap and led the field to the finish, ahead of Adam Swift, Nick Lascuola, and Nailor.

Kiera Carpenter could not make the trek onto the track for the second heat race, so the field consisted of only two cars. Ashley Kuhn led the first lap of the race, but Branden quickly moved around Kuhn into first and notched the victory.

 Most of the feature was run caution free, although there was plenty of action. In the opening laps, Branden Dion and Adam Swift each advanced their positions to second and third behind leader Kaitlyn Donovan. Swift passed Dion for second on lap seventeen. While battling for third, Dion and Lascuola made contact in turn one and spun, bringing out the yellow flag and setting up a green-white-checkered finish.  On the restart, Donovan fended off Swift and Willy Sanchez to pick up her first win of the season.

The Sport Four division raced one lone heat race, with a season high twelve cars on the entry list. Devin Miranda started on the pole with John Lamake on the outside, but Kyle Pacheco rocketed around the speedway and quickly took the lead. Pacheco never looked back, leading Dave Westgate Jr. and Rich Sprague to the checkered flag.

Rich Sprague stole the show once again in the Sport Four feature. Off the heels of a post-race disqualification last week, Sprague wasted no time marching to the front of the field once again. Kyle Pacheco took the lead early and led most of the race, but on lap sixteen, Sprague secured the top spot after a furious battle with the fellow rookie. After completing the pass, Sprague pulled away and gained his third victory of the year. Kyle Pacheco, Dave Westgate Jr., Chris Bissell and Ed Gould rounded out the top five.

For the first time this season, the Allison Legacy North Series circuited the Seekonk Speedway without interference from inclement weather. In the opening heat, pole sitter TJ Jeski led before being passed by points leader Pete Portante. With one lap to go, Danielle Bibeault got loose and spun in turn four, paving the way for another green-white-checkered finish. Portante was challenged by Logan and Jeski, but neither driver could complete the pass and the #24 held on for the win.

Pete Portante led the opening two laps of the feature from the pole position, but local favorite James Logan swiped the top spot on lap three. On the eighth lap, Danielle Bibeault spun in front of the leaders, bringing out the caution immediately. Logan widened the gap on the ensuing laps, and Emily Packard passed Portante for second with ten laps to go. On the twenty fifth and final lap, the #43 of Devin O’Connell spun on the back stretch, but the race stayed green and James Logan picked up the win.

Before the twenty five lap main event, the pure stocks circled the track for a pair of ten lap heats. In the first heat, the action was stalled on the second lap after contact in turn one between Keri Lynn Manfredo and Jamie Salley resulted in a spin. Jesse Melberg led from start to finish and picked up the win ahead of Bill Doyle, John Robidoux, and pole sitter Ed Flanagan Jr.

Amy Heroux’s bad luck continued for the second week in a row in the second heat.  Heroux lost control of her #9 pure stock and spun in turn four on the third lap. Randy Moretti led points leader Bill Chouinard and Chris Lima to the checkered flag.

The feature got off to a rocky start. After only two laps, Mark Boisvert and Chris Lima made contact on the front stretch which sent the #47 of Boisvert spinning into the grass. Keri Lynn Manfredo spun on the restart in turn two but the race stayed under green flag conditions. A multi-car spin brought out the caution for the second time on lap nine after Jamie Salley, Missy Charette, Mark Boisvert, and Rick Hayward made contact and spun exiting turn two. John Robidoux took the lead from Jamie Burch on the restart, and opened up a sizeable gap over the field. However, his two second lead was erased as the caution on lap twenty three for a spin involving Dan Massa Jr. and Jamie Salley set the stage for another green-white-checkered finish. John Robidoux maintained the inside line and picked up the win over Randy Moretti and Jesse Melberg.