SEEKONK, Mass. — You couldn’t have imagined the struggles of the 2020 race season at Seekonk Speedway. In a year filled with COVID-19, including restrictions from the state of Massachusetts to not allow fans into the track for the entire year, to say it’s been a struggle is an understatement.

But, when the Fast Friday season concludes this Friday, October 9, champions of the Everett’s Auto Parts Diamond Jubilee Series will be crowned… and there will be one more race to finish the season.

Current Pure Stock competitors will step out of their rides following their 25-lap season finale, and some have selected another drivers to race for them in the Whiskey Tango Foxtrot 35 lapper, a special event. The only rules for the race: registered 2020 Pure Stock drivers can not drive in it — they must have another driver who is registered to race at Seekonk Speedway sit behind their wheel.

The race will pay $500 to win, courtesy of Craig Pianka and Rich Helger, and their companies, Spring Villa Memory and Helger’s Southcoast Power Equipment. Joel Humes, of Cornwell Tools, has also donated a set of tools to give to the winner. Multiple other sponsors have also jumped into the pot to supply lap money for the entire field.

Similar to recent DAV Fall Classics, the lap money will be distributed throughout the field — not to the driver that leads the lap. A base percentage slate has been decided that will give the cash down the line, with more at the top of the finishing order, and the percentages falling throughout. However, all drivers that start the race will earn some winnings — with the money going to the car owners that gave up their car for someone else to drive.

Although no fans will be allowed in the grandstands due COVID restrictions, anyone who is a part of the drivers teams will be allowed to purchase a pit pass and come in through the back gates to support their driver. Pit passes are $20 if purchased online by Thursday night at 8PM, and $25 on-site day of the race.

Example drivers include those who have raced or currently race in the Pro Stocks, Everett’s Auto Part’s Late Models, Helger’s Southcoast Power Equipment Sportsman, Sport Trucks and some of Seekonk’s Fast Friday divisions. All of them have deep racing roots that tie back to Seekonk.

Additional sponsors included are Nat’s Racing Engines, Chaz Auto Body, Gerry’s General Maintenance, Len Ellis, Walsh Towing, Tom Moreshead (T Moreshead Landscaping), Boss Lady Graphics, TTM Motorsports, Dutch Auto Body and Jan’s Recovery. The list is eligible to grow, and those who might be interested in adding to the values can message Ed St. Germain or Kyle Souza on Facebook.

“We are excited to see so many of our great supporters and fans step up to support this event,” Ed St. Germain, Director of Business Development at Seekonk Speedway, said. “We are especially thankful to the Pure Stock owners who let someone drive their cars to make it happen. This is something that could grown into several things in 2021 and beyond.”

The entry list is stacking up. Confirmed Seekonk champions on the list include seven-time Late Model champion Gerry DeGaspere Jr., Colby Lambert, Mike Brightman, Dylan Estrella, Kevin Casper and John Robidoux. And there’s the potential for more to be added — with names like current Legends Cars points leader Jake Johnson likely.

DeGaspere will drive the No. 41 normally driven by Danny Massa, while Lambert steps behind the wheel of his brother’s car. Mike Brightman will drive his daughter’s No. 27, while Dylan Estrella will wheel the No. 77 for Joey Morrissette. Robidoux, a former champion in the Pure Stocks, will return to the seat behind the wheel of the No. 0 — a car normally driven by 2019 division champion Greg Perry. Kevin Casper, a former Sport Truck champion and current Pro Stock regular, will drive the No. 74, a car normally driven by Jim Reilly.

Crystal Serydysnki, a former winner in Seekonk’s Sportsman, is going to drive the No. 01 — her boyfriend Scott Cestodio’s car. Names like Dave Gargaro (Sportsman), Joey Parker (Legends Cars/Late Models), Tyler Almeida (Sport 4) and Dick Benoit (Pro Stocks) are also slated to compete. The list may also grow before the drop of the green flag on Friday night.

For more information on Seekonk Speedway, fans are encouraged to visit seekonkspeedway.com and follow the track on social media.


01 — Crystal Serydysnki

0 — John Robidoux

4 — Jake Johnson

11RI — Dave Gargaro Jr.

14 — Joey Parker

15 — Colby Lambert

27 — Mike Brightman

41 — Gerry DeGaspere Jr.

47 — Tyler Almeida

74 — Kevin Casper

77 — Dylan Estrella

95 — Dick Benoit