Barry Shaw Jr. and Lenny Guy were both celebrating at the finish of the 35-lap Seekonk Sport Trucks feature, but for two different reasons. Shaw would inherit the lead when two leaders got collected, and Guy would snag the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series championship in the division.
Nick Testone III would lead the field to the green and show the way for the first six laps, pulling away from the field in the early stages. However, it wasn’t long before Brittany Campbell would slide by and take the lead on lap seven, showing the way for a total of four laps before she had to give it up to Darryl Church.
Church would lead the charge at the front of the field from laps 11 through 30, but he wasn’t leading without a lot of pressure from behind. Both Richie Murray and Shaw, the top two points contenders in the division, were breathing right down his neck waiting for him to make a mistake. Church would slide up the track off turn two on lap 30, and Murray would put his truck down under him entering turn three, battling for the victory with just five laps to go.
Contact between the top two would sent Church spinning, and Murray to the rear of the field for the assist. That would hand the lead to Shaw, who would roll the bottom around the track for the final five laps, and cruise to another victory on the season. Another late restart inside the final five laps would play a major role in deciding the champion of the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series.
Lenny Guy would roll the bottom of Mikey Cooper in the final three corners, and as both of them rolled off turn four to the checkered, Cooper would get sideways and crash coming to the line, handing the Triple Crown trophy right to Guy, who earned a second-place finish. Based on transponders across the line, Ed Perry was third, followed by Elias Dib, Murray, Mike Cavallaro, Lenny Sousa, Tim Watson, Nick Testone III and Maddie Harkin.
With his win, Shaw closed the points gap to just 14 points, but Murray still holds the edge. Lenny Guy moved to third in the standings over Cavallaro and Cooper.