By Souza Media/Kyle Souza
SEEKONK, Mass. — Seekonk Speedway will crown eight champions this weekend as part of the annual DAV Fall Classic, set for Friday, September 24 and Saturday, September 25. Champions will be crowned across both days — and the Pro All Star Series (PASS) Super Late Model series is also coming back to town to headline Saturday with a 150-lap contest.
The stars of the PASS series are back for their second time this year, fresh-off the inaugural Bay State Classic $10,000 to win race won by Johnny Clark on July 28. On that night, DJ Shaw finished second, and Ryan Kuhn was the first Seekonk regular, scoring a third-place effort.
The extra-distance special will again pin PASS regulars against some of Seekonk’s best — with eight-time track champion Dave Darling, Kuhn, Tom Scully Jr. and others set to compete against Clark, Shaw, and others. The Pro Stocks have already crowned their track champion — Dave Darling — last Saturday night. The PASS race will conclude the full weekend of action, as the final feature of Saturday.
On top of that — the Everett’s Auto Parts Late Models, Chaz Auto Body Sport Trucks and Helger’s South Coast Power Equipment Sportsman will also be in action Saturday. The Sportsman and Late Model title battles are already decided — as Vinnie Arrenegado has already clinched his first Late Model title, while Chad Baxter was crowned Sportsman champion for the first time.
The Late Model field will look to best Arrenegado in their 30-lap season-finale, while Baxter looks to charge to another win in the special 50-lap Sportsman feature. Sponsored by Helger’s South Coast Power Equipment, the Sportsman 50 will be the longest race for the division in recent memory — forcing drivers to save their equipment early in order to be there at the end. Baxter will look to hold off Corey Fanning, Craig Pianka, Ryan Lineham, recent winner Adam Pettey, and more.
In the Sport Truck feature, a finish inside the top-10 will clinch Barry Shaw his first track title in the Everett’s Auto Parts No. 85. On the heels of six victories and consistent finishes this season, Shaw has been the driver to beat. Mike Cavallaro leads Brittany Campbell by 20 points, and Amy Arsenault — who will be the Rookie of the Year — by 24 points in the race for the third spot in the championship standings. Look for names like Mike Duarte, Rick Martin and Lenny Guy to contend for the win in the 25-lap finale.
NASCAR Saturday Fall Classic racing begins with a special 2 p.m. start time. The pits open at 9 a.m., with practice set to roll at 11:30 a.m. Tickets for the final race of the season are $25 for adults, with children 6-12 set at $10. Children five and under are free.
On Fast Friday, the Fall Classic includes the Nick’s Pit Stop Legends Cars, Helger’s South Coast Power Equipment Sportsman, Seekonk Grand Prix Bandolero Bandits and Outlaws and the Everett’s Auto Parts Sport 4’s. All divisions will crown their champions to wrap the season.
In the Bandits, Darren Krantz Jr. will likely only need to start the race to clinch his first Seekonk title after a consistent season in his No. 31. In the Outlaws, it’s a different story.
Rising star Richie Helger Jr. leads by 14 points — while a finish of sixth or better will automatically clinch him the title no matter what anyone else does. However, if he stumbles just a bit, there is a hungry group of drivers that will look to take him over. Nick Chaber Jr., Stephen Bowden, Brent Robidoux and Jase Mongeon are all tied for second. Even if Helger wins the title, the race is on to see who will be the runner-up.
The Everett’s Auto Parts Sport 4 battle joins the Outlaw race as the closest championship race across all of Seekonk’s divisions, on both nights. Mikey LeFort looks to add another title to his resume, leading by 14 over Dave Simpson and 28 over Karlin Levesque. With a finish of seventh or better, LeFort will clinch the crown, no matter what Simpson does. For Levesque to have a shot, it will take some good luck.
And in the Pure Stocks, Greg Perry is just 25 laps away from his second career title. With one victory on the season, Perry leads Danny Massa by 28 points, with Joey Morrissette in third, 30 points back. A strong run for Perry will be enough to hoist the trophy again.
The Nick’s Pit Stop Legends Cars championship has already been decided — as the 10 points wins for Luke LeBrun was enough to clinch that title a week early. He will look to make it four straight wins to end the season on Friday in the 25-lap Legends Cars race — hoping to hold off the challenges of Josh Parsons, Reese Bogue, Jacob Burns, Mason Tessier, Brendon Hammann, and others.
Also on Friday, the second annual Whiskey Tango Foxtrot 35-lap race is scheduled to conclude the night. This race will be with the Pure Stock cars — but not the normal Pure Stock drivers. Some of the drivers have elected to hand their cars over to NASCAR Saturday drivers to compete in a special event. This is the second annual race — with the first last year, won by Dick Benoit. The race requires any driver that runs to have been a NASCAR registered driver in either 2018, 2019 or 2021.
Some of the names intending on running include former track champions Doug Benoit, Chad Baxter, Richie Murray, Jake Johnson, Mike Brightman and Corey Fanning. Additional names registered at this point include Ed Flanagan Jr., Ed Perry and Austin Erickson. To see which car they will be in, visit the track on Friday!
Fast Friday Fall Classic racing begins at 7 p.m., with tickets available at the gate on race day, or in advance through Tickets are $10 for adults, with children 12 and under free.
For more information on Seekonk Speedway, visit and follow the track on social media for the latest updates.