SEEKONK, Mass. — Ryan Kuhn decided to take his set of fresh tires late, charged to the lead, and held off the field to win the Seekonk iRacing Road Trip Tour presented by Souza Media at Five Flags Speedway on Thursday night. The race was the third of six in the Road Trip Tour, titled the Snowstorm 100, sponsored by Watermark Electric.
Kuhn, who entered the race as the points leader and defending division champion, opened his advantage in the 2021 standings at the halfway point of the season. But it almost didn’t work out.
Jake Johnson, who took fresh tires early, stormed to the lead and looked to be heading to a win before a caution in the final 17 laps. Johnson didn’t have extra tires left in the pits, so it was Kuhn who charged by and took the win, followed by Thomas Axsom and PJ Evans. The top three finishers in the race mark the top-three in the championship standings with three races complete, and are also the three winners on the season.
Watermark Electric, based in North Dartmouth, Massachusetts, specializes in water and wastewater treatment plants and pumping stations. Watermark Electric owner Dave Campbell also owns a Sport Truck that competes at Seekonk Speedway, driven by his daughter, Brittany Campbell. Based on available record, Brittany’s Sport Truck win in 2019 made her the second female in the 2000s to score a NASCAR victory. Watermark Electric also proudly sponsors a contingency award that pays $4 for each heat winner in 2021.
Behind Kuhn, Axsom and Evans, Mason Tessier finished fourth and Ty LeClerc fifth. Reese Bogue was sixth, followed by Richie Murray, Ethan Souza, Jake Johnson and Elias Dib.
Kuhn collected $75 for scoring the feature win, courtesy of Watermark Electric, while additional funds were also distributed to the top-five finishers. For second, Axsom earned $50, while Evans collected $30 for third, Tessier $25 for fourth and LeClerc $20 for fifth. A race sponsorship on the Seekonk Road Trip Tour is $300 — including $200 going towards the top-five in each event — and $100 going towards the season-ending point fund.
On top of the race awards and point fund, each event has a large selection of contingency awards on the line. A full list of winners is posted below in the story.
CONTINGENCY AWARDS: SNOWSTORM 100 Presented by Watermark Electric at Five Flags Speedway:
Watermark Homerun Heats from Watermark Electric ($4 per heat race winner):
WINNERS: Ryan Kuhn, Thomas Axsom, Richie Murray
“Hard Luck” Courtesy of Atlantic Yacht Rigging ($20 to hard luck driver):
WINNER: Ben Amado
Anchor Paws Rescue Halfway Bonus ($20 to the driver who leads the halfway lap):
WINNER: Thomas Axsom
Trent Goodrow Designs Least Incident Points Award (Free Paint Scheme To The Winning Driver):
WINNER: Ty LeClerc
Bernier’s Liquors Lucky Spot ($25 to a random driver who finishes between 8th and 16th):
WINNER: Cody Tripp
Helger’s Southcoast Power Equipment Move of the Race ($20 to the driver that improves most spots):
WINNER: PJ Evans (+7 spots, 10th to 3rd)
Lucas Milhaupt Fourth-Place Driver (A $4.44 award for the Fourth-Place Driver at Lap 44):
WINNER: Ryan Kuhn
RKM Fast Time Award ($10 to the driver who posts the fastest qualifying time courtesy of Ryan Kuhn Motorsports:
WINNER: Ryan Kuhn
Following Five Flags, additional races on the Road Trip Tour will take place through the month of April. On Thursday, March 11, Seekonk Speedway’s virtual teams return to the abandoned Myrtle Beach Speedway with the Super Late Model, while Langley Speedway hosts a Legends Cars special on March 25. The champion will be crowned at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on April 22 with the Late Model division.
For more information on Souza Media, visit Souza Media on Facebook or visit For more information on Seekonk Speedway, visit and follow the track on all types of social media.