SEEKONK, Mass. —  After eight races spread across seven months, Ryan Kuhn wasn’t going to be denied. The Bridgewater, Massachusetts, native picked up the victory in the finale of the Seekonk Speedway iRacing Road Trip Tour on Thursday night at the virtual Myrtle Beach Speedway, sealing the series championship. Kuhn won five of the eight races, and finished inside the top-five in all but one race — holding the checkered flag in the finale en route to the crown.
“Fun race with Ryan Doucette at the end,” Kuhn said in Victory Lane. “Really cool to get the championship. I had a really fun battle with everyone this season. I hope we can do this again.”
The Spooktacular 150 presented by Helger’s Southcoast Power Equipment was sponsored by Helger’s — located in Westport, Massachusetts. They can provide you with the latest and greatest in outdoor power products to make your outdoor living more enjoyable. Visit them on the web at southcoastpowerequipment.com. The race aired live on Speed51.com to a national audience.
Kuhn started the season with a fourth-place finish, but followed it up with victories at Southern National Motorsports Park, Irwindale Speedway, The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway and Five Flags Speedway. Thomas Axsom, who finished fifth in points, picked up back-to-back wins at South Boston Speedway and Oxford Plains Speedway. The only other winner on the circuit was Brandon Wilkinson, who won the opener at Lanier Speedway in April.
Ryan Doucette didn’t only finish second in the championship standings, but also was able to wrap a second-place finish in the season-finale at Myrtle Beach. Doucette led the entire first half of the race after starting on the pole, was passed by Kuhn for the lead, and settled for second. He trailed Kuhn by 32 in the final tally for the championship.
“It hurts,” Doucette said about not winning this season, but coming close. “Sometimes consistency can pay off, but I wasn’t quite consistent enough to be up there winning the points.”
In the race at Myrtle Beach, Jake Matheson finished third, followed by PJ Evans and Richie Murray. Brad Sousa was sixth, followed by Kyle Casper, Ryan Vanasse, Nick Wood and Chase Belcher.
The final tally in the championship saw Kuhn winning, followed by Doucette, Matheson in third, PJ Evans in fourth and Axsom in fifth. Wilkinson finished sixth, followed by Murray to finish the top seven.
Outside of Helger’s Southcoast Power Equipment, multiple sponsors were included in the iRacing Road Trip Tour as contingency sponsors. A below list of sponsors and awards from Myrtle Beach is below.
Homerun Heats: Each heat race winner will earn $8 courtesy of Watermark Electric (WINNERS: Brandon Wilkinson, Ryan Doucette)
Crime To Pay More Than A Dime 10th Place Feature Finisher: $100 to the 10th place finisher in each feature (WINNER: Chase Belcher)
“Hard Luck” Award Courtesy of Atlantic Yacht Rigging: $25 to the hard luck driver by Mike Floyd & Atlantic Yacht Rigging (WINNER: Mike Floyd)
MID-PACK MANIAC: A&A Auto Parts will sponsor the 12th place finisher in each feature with a $12 prize named the “Mid-Pack Maniac” (WINNER: Tom Scully III )
Halfway Bonus: Anchor Paws Rescue will provide $25 to the driver that leads the halfway lap at each championship event (WINNER: Ryan Doucette)
Leading The White: One Free Paint Scheme To the Driver That Leads the White Flag Lap in All Events Courtesy of Trent Goodrow Designs (WINNER: Ryan Kuhn)
Helger’s Southcoast Power Move Of the Race Award: $25 to the driver that improves the most positions in the feature (WINNER: Jake Matheson (16th to 3rd)
Lucas Milhaupt Fourth-Place: Lucas Milhaupt will sponsor the fourth-place driver at lap 44 with a $4.44 award at each event (WINNER: Jake Matheson)
Seekonk Speedway will take the rest of the month of October, and the month of November off from virtual racing, and produce a winter schedule beginning in October. Stay in touch with the latest on the website and social media for updates. For more information on Seekonk Speedway, visit the track at seekonkspeedway.com and follow the track on social media.