PJ Evans, a rising star and former winner in Seekonk Speedway’s Seekonk Grand Prix Bandolero division, was back in Victory Lane on Thursday night. Evans picked up the victory in the Peach Pit Classic 75 at Lanier National Speedway, a virtual win as part of Seekonk’s iRacing Road Trip Tour presented by Souza Media.
The opener of the six-race series was broadcasted on Extreme Sim TV and was sponsored by Helger’s Southcoast Power Equipment. Helger’s, located in Westport, Massachusetts, can provide you with the latest and greatest in outdoor power products to make your outdoor living more enjoyable. Visit them on the web at southcoastpowerequipment.com.
Evans started on the outside pole following an invert, took the lead early, and went virtually unchallenged until the final laps. In the sprint to the finish, it was defending Seekonk virtual series champion Ryan Kuhn and Reagan Parent breathing down the back bumper of the No. 12. But, neither of them were able to find their way around, as Evans held off both of them in a flurry of late cautions to score the win — his first in Seekonk’s virtual league. Kuhn nearly completed the pass once, but a caution hurt his chances of sealing the deal.
Parent was able to sneak around Kuhn on the final restarts, finishing second, while Kuhn opened his title defense with a third-place effort. Ryan Doucette was fourth and Jake Johnson was fifth in the final results. Six through 10 went to Tom Scully III, Mason Tessier, Ben Amado, Richie Murray and Thomas Axsom.
As a race sponsor, Helger’s provided $300 in prizes to the drivers — including $200 distributed to the top-five finishers and $100 towards the season-ending point fund. Evans pocketed $75 for his victory, while Parent earned $50. Kuhn was awarded $30 for third, while Doucette collected $25 for fourth and Johnson earned $20 for fifth.
Outside of the race sponsorship, multiple companies also provided contingency awards for drivers. A full list of awards and winners is below.
Watermark Homerun Heats from Watermark Electric ($4 per heat race winner):
WINNERS: Ryan Kuhn, Thomas Axsom, Richie Murray & Reagan Parent
“Hard Luck” Courtesy of Atlantic Yacht Rigging ($20 to hard luck driver):
WINNER: Mason Tessier
Anchor Paws Rescue Halfway Bonus ($20 to the driver who leads the halfway lap):
Trent Goodrow Designs Least Incident Points Award (Free Paint Scheme To The Winning Driver):
WINNER: Nate McCombe
Bernier’s Liquors Lucky Spot ($25 to a random driver who finishes between 8th and 16th):
WINNER: Ethan Souza
Helger’s Southcoast Power Equipment Move of the Race ($20 to the driver that improves most spots):
WINNER: Jake Johnson (21st to 5th position)
Lucas Milhaupt Fourth-Place Driver (A $4.44 award for the Fourth-Place Driver at Lap 44):
WINNER: Thomas Axsom
RKM Fast Time Award ($10 to the driver who posts the fastest qualifying time courtesy of Ryan Kuhn Motorsports:
WINNER: Ryan Kuhn
Fans can watch a replay of the race by visiting Extreme Sim TV’s YouTube channel.
The next stop on the Seekonk iRacing Road Trip Tour will see drivers visit New Hampshire Motor Speedway with the Tour Modified on January 28, followed by a stop at Five Flags Speedway in Florida with the ARCA Menards Series car on February 25th. On Thursday, March 11, Seekonk Speedway’s virtual teams return to the abandoned Myrtle Beach Speedway with the Super Late Model, while Langley Speedway hosts a Legends Cars special on March 25. The champion will be crowned at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on April 22 with the Late Model division.
For more information on Souza Media, visit Souza Media on Facebook or visit kylesouza.com. For more information on Seekonk Speedway, visit seekonkspeedway.com and follow the track on all types of social media.