By Souza Media/Kyle Souza
SEEKONK, Mass. — Nine drivers bested the rest of their respective fields last weekend at Seekonk Speedway to claim championship trophies in the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series. Started in 2013, and still going strong today, the Phil’s Propane special is a three-race series, with a separate points title on the line compared to the overall track championship.
In the eight-year history, Phil’s has been the primary sponsor, allowing drivers to race for a bit of extra cash, and often, extra laps. However, due to the ongoing nationwide tire shortage, this year, a few of the races were normal distance. The championship format is simple, and similar to the NASCAR playoff format. The drivers that wins race one, and race two, are locked into the final round, while the other two positions are filled by those who gained the most points. A total of four drivers in each division entered the final night in contention (and in one case, five drivers, due to a tie in points), and the one that beat the others on the track in that feature race was crowned the winner.
Four of the drivers are repeat champions in the Phil’s Series, while the other five are brand new. Phil’s Propane is located in Rhode Island, offering residential, commercial and industrial propane opportunities. You can visit them online at for more information.
On NASCAR Saturday, Ryan Kuhn finished second in the Pro Stock feature on August 21, enough to seal him his second Phil’s title, but first in the Pro Stocks. Kuhn won the title in the Legends Cars division in 2017, but this year, took control of the Pro Stock class with consistency, finishing inside the top-five in all three events. Dave Darling won the first two races in the series, while Bobby Pelland stormed to the front to win the finale last weekend.
In the Everett’s Auto Parts Late Models, the two winners in the first two rounds of the series weren’t a factor in deciding the champion. Josh Hedges finished second in the 30-lap feature, capturing the crown over Nick Uhrig, who finished an impressive fourth. In the first two events, Gerry DeGasparre Jr and Chase Belcher won, but they finished outside the top-five on the deciding night, while Vinnie Arrenegado won the 30-lap finale. Hedges, a former Sport Truck track champion, won his first Phil’s Propane Crown.
The Helger’s South Coast Power Equipment Sportsman battle went down to the final few laps, with Corey Fanning emerging victorious for the second time in his career, and second time in a row. He bested Chad Baxter — who had won the first two events — Ed Perry and Craig Pianka to win the crown. The No. 11 machine did it in fine fashion, winning the finale, and holding off Baxter by a mere few car lengths to score the trophy.
Taking down his first Phil’s title in the Chaz Auto Body Sport Trucks was Barry Shaw, driver of the Everett’s Auto Parts No. 85 Truck. Shaw was able to win the first, and final race in the series en route to the crown, but had to hold off a hard-charging Rick Martin and Amy Arsenault in the final race. Although Martin didn’t pass post-race technical inspection, Shaw celebrated in Victory Lane, while Arsenault was second, and Mike Cavallaro collected third in the Phil’s title chase.
On Fast Friday, Josh Parsons bursted to the front of the 25-lap Nick’s Pit Stop Legends Cars field in perfect timing, taking down his first victory of the season and the Phil’s title along with it. As a former title-holder in 2019, Parsons knew he would have a shot at the crown, but it didn’t come easy in the feature. He had to hold off the best of the best — with names like Mason Tessier, Luke LeBrun and rising star Devin Deshaies joining him in the final battle. Tessier and LeBrun had won the first two events, while Deshaies entered the finale on points.
In the Helger’s South Coast Power Equipment Pure Stocks, Billy Chouinard might have won the finale of the series — but it was Tim Ouellette hoisting the Phil’s crown at the end of 25 laps on Friday, August 20. Ouellette was able to win the second race of the series, and beat the other three challengers in the finale: Danny Massa, Joey Morrissette and Curtis Rolondo. The rising star, behind the wheel of the No. 67 Pure Stock has been one of the top contenders all year.
Mikey LeFort added another Phil’s title to his resume, winning his second in the Everett’s Auto Parts Sport 4 division. LeFort had a difficult race in the finale, spinning early, and having to avoid a few major wrecks en route back to the front of the field. He would finish on the podium to seal the crown, besting Tim Bolger, Crystal Murray and Matt Pion. The winners inside the three races included LeFort, Bolger and Dave Simpson Jr., who earned his first career win in the finale.
And finally, Nick Chaber Jr. and Sam Macedo were crowned Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series champions in the Seekonk Grand Prix Bandolero Outlaw, and Bandit, divisions. Both drivers won the final race of the series in their respective divisions, and both are first-time Phil’s champions. In the Bandits, Macedo won two of the three races, and Darren Krantz Jr. won the other. In the Outlaws, Steve Bowden won the first race, and Chaber dominated the final two en route to the title.
Seekonk Speedway wishes to congratulate all of the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series champions for the 2021 season, and to thank Phil’s Propane for their continued support of this special short-track event at the Action Track of the East.
For more information on Seekonk Speedway, visit and follow the track on social media. Racing resumes on Friday, August 27, and Saturday, August 28, with just four weeks left in the championship points season.
2021 Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series Champions:
Pro Stocks – Ryan Kuhn
Late Models – Josh Hedges
Sportsman – Corey Fanning
Sport Trucks – Barry Shaw Jr.
Legends – Josh Parsons
Sport 4 – Mikey LeFort
Pure Stocks – Tim Ouellette
Bandolero Bandits – Sam Macedo
Bandolero Outlaws – Nick Chaber Jr.