Joey LeMay had been trying all season to earn his first career Seekonk Grand Prix Bandolero Outlaw victory, but this Friday, everything fell the right away for him. At the drop of the green, the field rolled around to complete lap one when contact between Isaiah Newcomb and a few others sent Newcomb to the pit area for the rest of the night, along with Aubrey Keller. Both drivers would not return to contend for glory.
At the green, LeMay would jump out to the top spot, leading laps two and three, before another caution slowed the action when Nicholas Rose and Nick Chaber Jr. got together, ending both of their nights on the wrecker. With just seven cars left to battle for the checkered flag, the remainder of the race would be contested under green flag conditions.
LeMay jumped back out front on the restart, and even though he led all 15 laps en route to his first career win, the record books aren’t going to show how close of a battle it truly was. For the final 12 laps, Nathan Smith, who was seeking his first win of the season, hounded the back bumper of LeMay’s Everett’s Auto Parts No. 8 looking for the right time to make a move by him. In the final few laps, Smith gained ground, and even took a look to try to make a run for the top spot.
But, when the checkered flag went high in the air, LeMay would earn the checkered, while Smith would settle for second. Giovanni Ruggerio grabbed third spot, followed by a best career finish for Steve Bowden, a fourth. Ethan Heilborn, Samantha Dell and Riley Caron wrapped the running cars at the finish.
With his second-place effort, Smith earned the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series championship in the Outlaw class, fending off three other drivers to snag the trophy. Ruggerio opened his points lead by a few more markers to 14 over Dell, while Smith is 28 back with just three races remaining in the title fight.