SEEKONK, Mass. — It’s rare that there are two drivers celebrating at the end of a 15-lap Seekonk Grand Prix Bandolero Outlaw feature, but that was the case Friday night at Seekonk Speedway. Reese Bogue rolled to another win, his final career in the Bandolero’s in his goodbye race, while Isaiah Newcomb hoisted his first championship trophy on the final night.

The abbreviated Seekonk Fast Friday season concluded with no spectators in the grandstands due to COVID-19 restrictions from the state of Massachusetts.

Bogue, who started mid-pack, is no stranger to Seekonk Grand Prix Bandolero victory lane. After countless wins and a championship in the Bandit division last year, Bogue moved to the Outlaws in 2020, and picked up right where he left off. If it wasn’t for one missed race, he would have certainly been in the discussion to win the championship.

The story of the race for most of it was Stephen Bowden, who started mid-pack himself, but sliced through the field and took over the lead on lap seven.

While the field was approaching a lapped car with five laps to go, the lapped car picked the middle groove, Bowden went to slide around the outside, and Bogue took advantage — slicing three-wide to the bottom. It was enough to give Bogue the edge for the remainder of the race in his green No. 4.

Bogue would score the win over PJ Evans, grabbing his best run of the season in what is likely also his final Bandolero race. Newcomb, who crossed the line inside the top-five, edged Nick Chaber Jr. by just four points in the final championship tally. Both drivers went to Victory Lane, but it was two tough nights for Chaber, and Newcomb’s consistency, that earned the driver of the No. 22 his first Seekonk title.

Newcomb was crowned the champion of the Everett’s Auto Parts Diamond Jubilee Series as part of the 75th anniversary season.

Seekonk Speedway wishes to thank division sponsor Seekonk Grand Prix for their continued support of the rising stars of the third-mile.