SEEKONK, Mass. — In one of the wildest ideas in the history of the 75 years of Seekonk Speedway, Pure Stock drivers stepped out of their cars and gave them up to another driver Friday night, helping close the 75th anniversary season at Seekonk Speedway in style. The catch was that no registered 2020 Pure Stock driver could compete, but drivers from Saturday night were encouraged, since they haven’t been able to race due to COVID-19 restrictions from the state of Massachusetts.

In the end, 13 cars took the green flag, with former Seekonk Speedway champions and more in the field. It was Dick Benoit — a regular in Seekonk’s premiere Pro Stock division — who would wheel his daughter’s No. 95 to Victory Lane in the Whiskey Tango Foxtrot 35-lap feature race. Benoit, who is also a former competitor in the Sportsman division, picked up the victory driving his daughter Alice Benoit’s entry.

John Robidoux, a former champion in the Pure Stocks himself, dusted off the driver’s suit for the first time this year and finished second, followed by Joey Parker, a former Legends Cars and Late Model driver at Seekonk. Defending Seekonk Sport Truck champion Richie Murray was fourth, while Crystal Serydysnki returned and finished the top-five.

For their victory, the Benoit’s collected a total of $800 — $500 of a winning purse from Helger’s Southcoast Power Equipment and Spring Villa Memory Care — $200 of it for Benoit’s outside lane pass to take the win — and $100 from Tommy Blackwell and TFB Racing.

Additional race sponsors included in the race provided lap money that was distributed out through the field, making sure all car owners left with cash. Sponsors included Nat’s Racing Engines, Chaz Auto Body, Gerry’s General Maintenance, Len Ellis, Walsh Towing, Tom Moreshead, Boss Lady Graphics, TTM Motorsports, Jan’s Recovery and Dutch Auto Body.

The race was a way for drivers, teams, owners, officials, track safety and more to have “fun” closing out a crazy, COVID-filled 2020 season.


  1. Dick Benoit (Alice Benoit)
  2. John Robidoux (Greg Perry)
  3. Joey Parker (Justin Rioux)
  4. Richie Murray (Tim Ouelette)
  5. Crystal Serydysnki (Scott Cestodio)
  6. Colby Lambert (Jeremy Lambert)
  7. Dave Gargaro Jr. (Gil Bradstreet)
  8. Dylan Estrella (Joey Morrissette)
  9. Mike Brightman (Emily Brightman)
  10. Jake Johnson (Justin Menard)
  11. Gerry DeGaspere Jr. (Danny Massa)
  12. Kenny Bamford (Tommy Blackwell)
  13. Dave Westgate (Arthur Meack)