Check out the candidates from the three classes of nominees and vote for one in each category. Thanks for helping the rich history of Seekonk Speedway live on for generations to come!

2019 Seekonk Speedway Wall of Fame Nominees

1946 - 1955

Eddie Casterline

Eddie was a 5 of 8 fixture in Victory Lane at Seekonk in the opening year, picked up a dozen victories from May of 1946 until May of 1947. In that opening season, an official champion was not declared, but it widely known that Casterline was the top driver of that time, giving him the distinction of being the “Unofficial” champion of that first season. His final win came just one week before he succumbed to injuries sustained at Seekonk Speedway.

Fred Luchesi

A 13 time winner at Seekonk, the 1956 champion spent his weekends traveling from track to track, all along the east coast. The Pawtucket, RI native won his first race at Seekonk in ‘54, and his final in ‘62. In that time, he could be found behind the wheel of anything he could get his hands on.

George Smaldone

 While unofficially picking up 13 career wins at Seekonk, he became the speedways first 3 consecutive time champion, winning the titles in 1953, 54, and 55.

Mickey Gill

Mickey has gone down in the record books as the first Official Champion of Seekonk Speedway, but it was 1950 when the track finally crowned one. He won two races in 1950 and 51.

1956 - 1965

Hop Harrington

 Hop Harrington was regarded as one of the best drivers at Seekonk in the 50s and 6os. He competed through the first few years of the 70s, winning his final event in August of 72. Hop is a 1999 inductee of the New England Hall of Fame.

Joe Rosenfield

In May of 1954, Joe Rosenfield picked up the first of his 25 wins, his final coming in 1967. In that time, he sat as Champion 4 times, becoming the tracks first 4-time champion, all in the “A” class.

Manny “Pops” Silvia

Manny picked up his first win in 1962, on the way to the B class title. He followed that up with the 64 B Championship, but it was the Mini Stocks where he became well known, picking up half of his 28 wins, along with the 1976 Mini Stock title. He won his final race in June, 1978.

Marty Zingalli

A WW II veteran of the U.S. NAVY started racing in 1956, until finding home in 1957 at

Seekonk, Marty had a cup full of wins, driving for the likes of Pop Ellis, Danny Almieda, Leffingwell, Len Bohler and a few others, before supplying rides for himself and then Bob Sprague 67-70 and Jon Astle 71” with many wins to his credit with the famous ford mustang # 42.


Al Cuhna

While not a competitor, Al was one of the original officials at the speedway. He spent time doing just about anything that needed to be done. He was best known as the starter of the speedway, but was instrumental in the early years, helping form Seekonk Speedway.

Wally Saleeba

For over 30 years, he was known simply as “The Voice of the Speedway.” His banter could be heard, as he talked about what was going on behind the scenes as well as what was on the track. It was his easy going style, his conversationalist style that kept the fans entertained. He created a card system that is still in use today, helping the announcer with sponsor, crew and personal information.

George Martin

Came to Seekonk Speedway as a competitor with the thrill shows, then in the Bomber division. Eventually he found himself as the assistance starter, then working with the original handicapper, Rusty Rushton. When Rusty retired, George took over and spent many a year working closely with D. Anthony Venditti in making sure the competition was at its best, week after week.

Jim “Smiley” Waterman

Smiley was the lead tech man here at Seekonk for many years from the seventies through the early nineties. He worked with Anthony very closely in creating a rules package that was strict, yet affordable, where it would create close competition. When it came down to inspections, his decisions were fair, thorough and honest. He also served as the lead tech man for the NASCAR Modified Tour when it began in 1985.

Create your own user feedback survey