The 2019 Triple Crown edition will begin on Saturday May 18 with the Sports Trucks as part of the NASCAR Saturday night program. The Fast Friday portion will begin with the  Bandoleros on June 7th. The series will conclude with the crowning of the champions on Phil’s Triple Crown Weekend  August 23rd and 24th!

“Seekonk Speedway is excited to continue this series that benefits our committed weekly racers and also adds excitement for our fans all summer long,” said Ed St. Germain of Seekonk Speedway.

The championship format for the series will remain close to the same as last year, with a “Chase” system. For 2019, the “Chase” format will stay in place on both Friday and Saturday night.

The final four drivers will be made up of the winner of the first race, the winner of the second race and the two highest point getters that have not won a race. In the event that one of the finalists can not compete in the finale, the next alternate in the points standing will be elevated to be a finalist.

In order to be eligible for the Phil’s title, a driver must compete in all three of the races.

The Pro Stocks will race in their extra-distance battles on June 15, July 27 and Aug. 24, while the Late Models will run their three races on June 8, July 13 and Aug. 24. The Pro Stock races will be 65 laps and the Late Model races will be 50 laps.

The Division III Sportsman will run Phil’s races on June 1, June 29 and Aug. 24, each of them 35 lap races. To wrap up the NASCAR Saturday divisions, the Sports Trucks will start the Phil’s Triple Crown Series off on May 18, then will finish their three race stretch on June 22 and August 24 — all of which 35 lap events.

The Fast Friday Series division will also each have three races in the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series.

The 2019 season will mark the seventh straight year that the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series takes place around the third-mile oval. Last year, Jake Johnson. scored the Pro Stock Phil’s championship, while Ray Parent, Corey Fanning and Bobby Tripp completed the Saturday night champions. Giovanni Ruggerio, Evan Marchand, Derek Gluchacki, Mikey Lefort and Doug Benoit won Fast Friday Triple Crown Championships.

The Speedway would like to thank Phil and everyone at Phil’s Propane for their continued support of short track racing at Seekonk Speedway.