SNEAK PEAK: 2018 Seekonk Fast Friday
by Kyle Souza
Over the past decade, the Fast Friday program at Seekonk Speedway has continued to grow.
The 2018 Fast Friday night will be headlined by the Legends Cars, a division of INEX. Nick’s Pit Stop will return once again to be the sponsor of another year of Legends action at Seekonk. The schedule includes the normal 25-lap feature events, but will also include the three-race Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series. Names to look for will include Derek Gluchacki, who went to Victory Lane three times last season.
Others to watch will be Josh Parsons, Jesse “The Mop” Jakubajtys, Brandon and Shileigh Martinez and Reagan Parent. Although the Martinez siblings and Parsons went to Victory Lane last season, Jesse and Reagan did not. Jesse has been on the top of his game over the last few years and will be due to crack the winner’s circle in 2018. Reagan came on strong in the second half of 2017 and was one of the strongest cars on the track over the final few weeks.
The Pure Stocks will also return for another season of competition, although as of now, it looks like the Lambert brothers will be looking to move up at Seekonk. That will kick the door wide open for other competitors, and a name like D.J. Pires could be a contender right from opening night. Pires won a race in 2017 in his rookie campaign and finished sixth in the standings. He is joined by names like Danny Massa, Lenny Sousa and Greg Perry as some of the early favorites.
The Sport 4 class has been the division that has seen the most growth over the last few years. In 2017, AJ Manuel made a late charge to try to grab the title, but fell short to David Westgate. Heading towards a new year, Manuel has to be the title favorite. He won two of the 12 races, but finished inside the top five in eight of them. If Westgate doesn’t return to defend his title, it appears Manuel will be the one to beat.
The youth program will once again be back, headlined by the Seekonk Grand Prix Bandolero Bandits and Outlaws. The divisions thrilled fans in their first year on track in 2017 and more of the same will be expected. The 2018 season will also mark the first without the Minicups in the last two decades. Ava Chouinard was the final Minicup champion in the history of Seekonk Speedway!
Heading towards a new season, the schedule for Fast Friday will be very similar to the past few years. The opening night is scheduled for June 1 and the champions will be crowned on Sept. 21.