Even though Mother Nature didn’t allow racing to take place on the final Fast Friday of the season, there are six champions that have been crowned as part of the Fast Friday program.
In the Nick’s Pit Stop Legends Cars, Joe Marfeo picked up his first career championship behind the wheel of the Mikey’s Motorsports No. 712. In 12 points races this season, Marfeo scored top five finishes in nine races and visited Victory Lane once. He finished inside the top 10 in all but one race. The Exeter, R.I. driver defeated Jesse Jakubajtys by 46 points, which is nearly a whole race distance. Marfeo is part of Mikey’s Motorsports, a team that fields multiple cars in the division. Help from teammates and his crew allowed him to capture the crown. Jakubajtys was second in the standings, while Derek Gluchacki captured third.
The Pure Stock title chase saw Colby Lambert put on a dominating performance this season. Behind the wheel of his No. 54, Lambert captured five victories in the 12 races and finished inside the top 10 in all of them. He finished inside the top five in every race but one. The Westport, Mass. drive, who saw his brother Jeremy compete alongside him all season, was clearly the fastest car each and every week. He will celebrate his first career championship come November 11th at the banquet. Behind him, Doug Benoit was second, 58 points back. Jeremy Lambert, Mike Henriques and Amy Arsenault round out the top five in the Pure Stock standings.
The Seekonk Sport 4 championship chase was among the closest of the season in any division, but it was David Westgate taking down another championship. Westgate is a former champion and his past experience certainly helped him along behind the wheel of the No. 49. Westgate captured three victories and 12 top 10 finishes in the 12 feature events. He ended the season with just a 14 point lead in the championship standings, but it was enough for the Taunton, Mass. driver to clinch the crown. Coming home second, AJ Manuel captured two victories, including what was the final race of the year. Chris Pacheco, Jordan Lopes and Sam Mattera rounded out the top five.
In the final season of the Minicup class, Ava Chouinard added her name to the list of Seekonk champions by wheeling her No. 6 machine into Victory Lane twice. Chouinard becomes just the second female champion in the 72 year history of Seekonk Speedway, joining Shelby Donavan in the group. With two wins, Chouinard had 18 points over Nikolas Frechette in the final standings. While Frechette was second, Hugh Boswer scored two wins and finished third.
The Seekonk Grand Prix Bandolero Bandits had four different drivers visit the winner’s circle this season, but it was Devin Deshaies, the Oakland, R.I. driver, who was able to capture the championship. Deshaies scored one victory, but was a master of consistency, finishing inside the top five in all of the 12 races. He ended up with a 24 point lead and adds himself to the list of first-time champions this season. RJ Marcotte finished second, while Ryan Arieta finished third.
The Seekonk Grand Prix Bandolero Outlaws had five different drivers visit Victory Lane, including Mason Tessier, who won five races in route to his first championship. Tessier finished inside the top five in 10 of the 12 events, but his victories propelled him to the crown by 24 points over Evan Marchand and Tyler Tomassi. Marchand won three races, while Tomassi won once. Tessier’s title is his first career at the third-mile oval.
There were six champions this season and five of them were first-time trophy holders. Each will be celebrated at the banquet, on Nov. 11, at the Venus De Milo in Swansea, Mass.