By virtue of his leading the last time across the stripe in a Late Model race that was shortened by a wreck and then rain, Ryan Lineham was awarded the win over Vinnie Arrenegado in a race that was heralded for five competitors in the run for the division championship.

As the laps wound down to ten to go, Lineham had just taken the lead from Tom “The Bomb” Adams and led across the stripe with Arrenegado gnawing at his back bumper, Adams on Vinnie’s high side and Paul Newcomb trying to follow Vinnie.

Lineham had come out of turn four running high and at the far end of the straight he had not settled in. Arrenegado pounced and pushed in going into turn one. Lineham had Adams on his bumper and Vinny coming in underneath while Newcomb was chasing Arrenegado through the gap.

Suddenly, Lineham was in the third groove and Adams was coming in underneath while Arrenegado rocketed into the lead. Newcomb followed and it was suddenly three-wide coming out of turn two.

Adams was the meat in the sandwich with Ryan on his outside. Newcomb rose uptrack coming out but Adams and Lineham were wheel-to-wheel above him and unable to give way. His door contacted Adams fender, sending him hard into the backstretch wall at a 45-degree angle. Lineham was pressed into the wall as well, taking a glancing blow. Adams and Lineham were able to drive away, but Newcomb had to be wreckered from the scene.

After a cleanup, they line for a lap ten restart: Lineham on the pole with Arrenegado at h is shoulder. Adams and Tyler Tomassi shared row two, followed by Gerry DeGasparre, Jr. and Mark Hudson, then Dane Saritelli and Mark Jenison

As the field began to circle the track for the restart, the heavens intervened with a light rain, sending the field to the pits. It was a brief shower and the track was dried and the field tried again, but before they could take the green, another shower broke out. After two more attempts, the last a heavier rain, more rain cells were seen coming in and the race was called and the win awarded to Lineham based on the last pass over the start-finish line.

It had looked like a good race at the outset, with Tyler Tomassi outrunning Jason Larrivee from the pole and taking command in turn three. Charlie Rose got under Larivee before Tomassi was loos and around in turn two. Cars dodged and collided trying to avoid. Mark Hudson, Jenison and DeGasparre immediately made for the pits. Michael Benevides went off on the hook after directly colliding with Tomassi, who was able to drive away and pit.

The lap one restart had Larivee and Newcomb at the front, followed by Bobby Tripp and Lineham. Adams and Arrenegado made up row three.

Newcomb edged out and took the lead. Behind them, Adams came around Tripp and Lineham, making it three-wide. Adams landed in second behind Newcomb chased by Vinny and Tripp. Adams now nosed in under Newcomb They went wheel-to-wheel through turn one and turn two and through the next lap before Adams got a fender past in turn two. Arrenegado nosed in under and again there was a three-wide into the next lap, when Adams grabbed the front alone on the backstretch. Arrenegado followed and Lineham got under Newcomb. Tripp and Dan Johnson followed. Newcomb dropped into fourth.

Next time across it was Adams, Arrenegado and Lineham nose-to-tail, but then caution flew as Dan Johnson lost a piece from his right rear window which had been flapping in the jetstream since the restart.

Adams got his nose ahead on the restart and kept it there into the next lap, lap ten. Behind him, Arrenegado and Lineham were battling for the right to challenge him. Lineham forged his way into second with Arrenegado settling onto his bumper and Tripp cruising in onto his, with Newcomb in pursuit.

Vinny began looking underneath to grab second on lap twelve and drove in underneath on the following circuit Newcomb got in under Tripp. Vinny went to second and Lineham gave him a bumper tag. By now, Adams was four cars up on the field. Nick Uhrig followed Tripp in sixth and Mark Hudson was seventh.

Jenison and Johnson made contact in turn three and spun to the grass. Jenison made for the pits as Adams and Arrenegado set up at the front for the restart. Lineahm and Newcomb followed ahead ofd Uhrig and Hudson. Tomassi was now back in the picture restarting under DeGasparre in row four.

Tom-the-Bomb shot to the front and Lineham pushed in under Arrenegado. Newcomb took over fourth, chased by Uhrig. It was an intense game of pursuit as Lineham went to Adams’ bumper, then under and into the lead with Vinny following.

It was at this point that they crossed the stripe into lap 20 and suffered the major wreckage on the wall at the back stretch. The final lap had been turned, thanks to mother nature and her weather.

1.Ryan Lineham 2. Vinnie Arrenegado 3. Tom Adams 4. Tyler Tomassi 5. Gerry Degasparre 6. Mark Hudson 7. Bobby Tripp 8. Dane Saritelli 9. Paul Newcomb 10 Dan Johnson