It’s amazing that another Fast Friday season has gone into the record books at Seekonk Speedway. The Fast Friday racing this season was some of the best we have seen in a long time and we had multiple new drivers roll into Everett’s Auto Parts Victory Lane. All of our divisions put on some thrilling racing for the fans each week.
The Nick’s Pit Stop Legends had a season filled with different winners, including Derek Gluchacki, who captured the win in Friday’s DAV Fall Classic 30 lap feature. Although the race was shortened five laps, it was going to be tough for anyone to beat the Nick Lascuola Racing No. 03. Gluchacki was among the fastest cars in the division all season long and showed it once again on Friday, rolling right to the front of the field. However, he had to deal with some of New York’s best, with Kevin Nowak and Richie Davidowitz charging through and giving him a run for his money in the final laps. While Gluchacki won, Davidowitz and Nowak came home on the podium. The race was shortened five laps because of a time limit. Thanks to Nick, Keith and the entire Nick’s Pit Stop team on sponsoring the division again this year.
The 30 lap DAV Pure Stock feature saw Danny Massa work from the pole position and never look back en route to his first win of the season. Massa has been struggling with some bad luck the last two years and finally was able to shake the monkey off his back during the DAV Fall Classic. Massa mentioned to me in Victory Lane that he had finished fifth, fourth, third and second in his last four DAV races. He was able to continue the streak and get the one spot he needed to visit Everett’s Auto Parts Victory Lane. Doug Benoit and Greg Perry also finished on the podium in the 30 lap race. A big thank you goes out to Helger’s Southcoast Power Equipment for being the sponsor of the Pure Stocks this season as well.
The Seekonk Grand Prix Bandolero Bandits and Outlaws both ran 20 lap feature events and saw Devin Deshaies and Connor Souza roll into the winner’s circle. Both drivers had already won races this season, but the victory for Deshaies capped off a season that saw him win the championship. While he won the title, Souza also put together a solid season in the Outlaws and was able to finish it off in the winner’s circle. Thank you to Wayne Darling and his team at Seekonk Grand Prix for sponsoring the division all season. The track appreciates the support!
The 25 lap Sport 4 DAV feature event saw a battle down to the end between three drivers. Mikey Lefort, Chris Pacheco and AJ Manuel were battling hard for the annual DAV victory and it was LeFort who ended up coming out on top. Lefort ended up using the bottom groove through the field and captured his second win of the season. A rough season for him included multiple motor changes, but he was able to end the season on a high note. Pacheco and Manuel battled for second and third right down to the wire, while Manuel also concluded the season second in the point standings and the winner of the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series in the division.
The Minicup feature went of smoothly and saw Ava Chouinard take down another victory in 2017. Behind the wheel of her No. 6, Chouinard became just the second female champion in the 72 year history of the Action Track of the East. Congratulations to her and the entire division on a great season of racing. That was the final Minicup race for now at Seekonk and they have been a pleasure each week.
We hope you join us at the track for the DAV Saturday next weekend!