Randy Cabral from Plymouth calls Seekonk home track and it showed in his quest for the Boston Louie Memorial. He worked constantly forward from his tenth place start, a position per lap at first, then more gradual as the laps wore on. Meanwhile, another local driver – Raynham’s “Dangerous Paul” Scally, had been cruising out to a half-lap lead. The last Scally wanted to see was the caution evaporating his dominating lead. But Doug Coby spun into turn 4 and the yellow flew.

Scally went out to a four car lead as Seth Carlson looked under, then fell back. Cabral went around Carlson’s outside into second and began to close the gap. With 4 laps remaining in the 29-lap race (29 was Louie Seymour’s car number) and coming off a caution restart, Cabral looked under “Dangerous Paul” and found his way to the lead. Todd Bertrand then went outside to ease Scally back to third. And with two laps remaining, Avery Stoehr relieved Scally of third.

Bertrand made a run at Cabral, but Cabral held him off for a .281-second win. Bertrand and Scally followed with Seth Carlson claiming fifth.

Scally roared off the pole with outside polesitter Michael Barnes taking a look under but Scally shut the door. Doug Cleveland grabbed third, followed by Jim SantaMaria and Kenney Johnson. By lap 4 the Dangerous One had a stratightaway lead as Cleveland took second. Cleveland was all over Barnes, then looked under, pushing ahead into second on lap six.

By lap 9, Scally was passing lapped traffic and had nearly a half-lap on the field. Cabral passed Cleveland to move in behind Carlson. They dueled until the lap 17 caution.

On the restart, Scally was away again, out to a four car lead. Cabral went to the outside and moved Carlson back to third. Scally had a four car lead with seven laps remaining and Cabral closing in. One lap later, the margin was two cars Scally bore down and pushed the lead to three cars just as Bethany Stoehr spun in turn two. With four to go, Scally had a restart with one of NEMA’s winningest drivers on his shoulder.

Kenney Johnson claimed sixth, followed by Cleveland, Ian Cumens, Jim Chambers and Bobby Santos III.


Author: speedwayweb

Share This Post On