Al Wisialko snagged his second Legends win on the season, coming out of wildfire restart which saw him, Nick Lascuola and Chris Robbins swirling around each other for the lead.  Lascuola and Robbins were dueling for the lead and left the door open downunder.  Wisialko spotted opportunity and took it, diving through the gap to the front.  Lascuola took it up a notch and they ran wheel-to-wheel for a bit as Robbins closed to Wisialko’s bumper, making a three-car beehive of activity.

They crossed under the white flag with Wisialko a half-car ahead of Lascuoloa and the trio rocketed once more around the oval, none giving any ground.  At the checkers, Wisialko had a .089-second win over Lascuola and .251 over Robbins.

John O’Sullivan and Andrew Carpenter rounded out the top five.

Though he lost the battle, Lascuola won the war:  his second place points will put him over the top into the championship with one regular season race remaining.

Robbins blasted off the outside pole like a missile with Andrew Carpenter on his bumper.  O’Sullivan had third going into the second circuit; Matthew Carpenter, Wisialko and Jesse Melberg (the current Pure Stock champion, trying out a Legends ride) followed.

Wisialko got around Matthew for fifth and Lascuola was putting on one of his patented charges to the front, sweeping into seventh.  He was on Wisialko’s tail in fifth by lap five.

Andrew was closing on Robbins at the front on lap seven With O’Sullivan a close third.  Lascuola had gotten by Wisialko and was looking a straightaway ahead to them.   By lap nine, he had closed to within one car and they were lapping Joe Putnam.

Lascuola then went under O’Sullivan with Wisialko following.  Lap 14 saw Robbins and Mattew still hammering away and Lacuola four cars back.  One lap later, he was on Carpenter’s bumper in third.  Once again around and they had a three-car nose-to-tail with Robbins, Carpenter and Lascuola.

Lascuola chose to go under Carpenter and took second, going into turn three.  Two laps later they were lapping Curt Snow and Andrew, running hard, spun out.

Lascuola, Robbins, Wisialko, O’Sullivan, Matt Carpenter and John Bellucci made up the front three rows or the 4-lap shootout which brought Wisialko to Victory Lane and Lascuola his championship.

Completing the top ten were Matt Carpenter, Melberg, Jesse Jakubajtys, Snow, Putnam and Bellucci.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *