Demello rides to win

Sean DeMello fought his way up from a twelfth place start to grab the lead on a lap 11 restart, then held off the man he had overtaken over the final 9 laps to the finish. Gil Bradstreet had taken the lead off the pole and dueled with David Gargaro until DeMello moved Gargaro back to third on lap eight.


Gargaro’s car had suffered engine failure in practice, but Chuck MacDonald had stepped up to offer the competitive rookie his vehicle for the remained of the season so he could remain in the points consideration. Gargaro was

able to make the sudden transition in a competent fashion, holding second for eight laps and finishing eighth overall.


DeMello, meanwhile, was gobbling up positions rapidly from the twelfth place start: he was past Chris Bissell on the first lap, then Henry Lavallee and Lenny Souza on the next lap. Bob Henry and Nick Mattera fell behind him on the next circuit, then David Westgate. He was past Chris Testa on the next time around and then Jason Enos. DeMello was now in third with fifteen laps remaining. He began a duel with Gargaro and they swapped positions before DeMello could finally settle into second on lap nine. Bradstreet was now cruising fifteen cars ahead but DeMello settled into chasing him down.


Bradstreet jumped ahead, but DeMello surged back alongside and battled the outside. He had his nose past Bradstreet at the line and took the lead for himself down the backstretch on lap 13. He had a two-lap lead on the next trip, which he enlarged enroute to a 1.410 second lead at the finish.

Henry Lavallee had been coming through the pack behind DeMello and was able to move past Bradstreet for second. Bradstreet claimed third with Devin Miranda and Tyler Boudreau finishing the top five. They had fought their ways up from fourteenth and thirteenth respectively. Boudreau keeps his points lead for the championship and Miranda gained two points on the leader from second.

Michael Glad, Lenny Sousa, Gargaro, Bissell and Henry completed the top ten.


1) Shawn DeMello 2) Henry Lavallee 3) Gil Bradstreet 4) Devin Miranda 5) Tyler Boudreau 6) Michael Glad 7) Lenny Sousa 8) Dave Gargaro Jr 9) Chris Bissell 10) Bob Henry 11) Dave Westgate 12) Chris Testa 13) Kim Bickford 14) Nick Mattera 15) Jason Enos 16) Glen Leduc

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *