Pelland leapfrogs Dion into victory lane

Bobby Pelland III shook of the tough luck that has plagued him much of the season to take the final step in the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown for Late Models. Pelland spoiled the night for rookie Branden Dion, who led four fifths of the race from the pole position.

The first 36 laps ran fault free until Ryan Lineham spun on lap 36 and went immediately to the pits for repairs. Lineham had been working Dion’s bumper since replacing Mark Hudson in second on lap seven. He darted back onto the track as the field roared through the starting box under green and gave chase. Pelland now was dueling Hudson for second. Hudson survived challenges underneath on restarts on laps 39 and 40. But Pelland took over on lap 41.

Bill Bernard had been mired in fifth, sixth and seventh much of the race, caught behind slower cars, but caught some free air after the lap 42 restart He was past Dylan Estrella after the green, , then Hudson. He bickered with Branden for three laps then leapt in behind Pelland with five laps remaining to harry him to the finish line.

On lap 46, Estrella got sideways and Hudson went around, collecting Branden. Lineham went to the pits for repairs. Dion was off on the hook for the end of his evening.

This put Pelland and Bernard side-by-side for the restart. Estrella and Jeramee Lillie filled the second row and Gerry DeGasparre, Jr. had Derek Anderson alongside in the third for a four-lap shootout.
Pelland held the edge on the green as Lillie jumped under Bernard and they traded paint in turn four. On lap later, Hudson was around in turn four, bringing a lap 48 restart.

Pelland and Bernard lined up again, going door-to-door out of the box. Pelland gained the lead over Bernard and Lillie battled outside Dave Hutchins, Jr. Behind them, Estrella, Charlie Rose and Anderson engaged in a late-race three-wide over fourth.

Bernard was unable to get past Pelland, who flashed over the stripe one-third of a second ahead. Hutchins was third, just .05 ahead of Lillie. Estrella won the three-wide festival for fifth, just ahead of Rose and Anderson. DeGasparre was eighth, Lineham ninth and Tyler Thompson Tenth.

1) Bobby Pelland III 2) Bill Bernard 3) Dave Hutchins 4) Jeramee Lillie 5) Dylan Estrella 6) Charlie Rose 7) Derek Anderson 8) Gerry DeGasparre Jr 9) Ryan Lineham 10) Tyler Thompson 11) Mark Hudson 12) Chad LaBassite 13) Brandon Dion

Author: speedwayweb

Share This Post On