Louie Mechalides picked up his third career Valenti Modified Racing Series

Louie Mechalides picked up his third career Valenti Modified Racing Series win Saturday at Seekonk, holding off some late race charges from Tommy Barrett and Dwight Jarvis. Todd Annarummo jumped out to the lead from his pole position start, and set the pace for the first half of the race. Todd had his hands full, as Stephen Masse made his way through the field from his 11th starting position. By the time the race reached the one-third mark, Masse had closed in on the second generation racer, and put heavy pressure on Annarummo. Todd was able to hold on through a pair of restarts, but it would be lapped traffic that would be their undoing, as just past the half-way point, a car about to go a lap down struggled to find the right groove, causing Annarummo and Masse to get together.

Mechalides took over at the top of the leader board with Jarvis next to him on the restart. The pair raced wheel to wheel for several laps before Jarvis settled in behind. Chris Pasteryak joined the fight for second, taking over the spot for a couple of laps in the latter stages before falling back. With a restart in the final 25 laps, Barret started making a move to the front, and settled into third. At this point, Jarvis was back to trying to find a way by the leader, but Lightning Lou was keeping his hands busy keeping his ground pounder at the front of the pack.

Barret tried a couple of times to squeeze by on the outside, making a strong bid for the lead over the final laps, but Mechalides kept pace at the front, and held on for his first win of the season. Jarvis slid underneath for second by several inches over Barrett. Todd Patnode and Rowan Pennink rounded out the top five.

1) Louie Michalidas 2) Dwight Jarvis 3) Tommy Barret 4) Todd Patnode 5) Rowan Pennink 6) Richard Savary 7) Norm Wrenn 8) Chris Pasteryak 9) Tim Jordan 10) Max Zachem 11) Mike Holdridge 12) Matt Mead 13) Dan Meservey Jr 14) Larry Barnett 15) Todd Owen 16) Stephen Masse 17) Jeff Pearl 18) Eddy Spiers 19) Todd Annarummo 20) Dana Smith 21) Dick Houlihan 22) Anthony Nocella 23) Rob Goodenough 24) Jeff Rocco

Author: speedwayweb

Share This Post On