Moretti, Bissell, Donovan and Belcher claim Fast Friday wins. Chouinard, Pacheco, Dion and Rolando claim Fast Friday Titles.

Following a one week hiatus due to rain, the “Fast Friday” series at Seekonk Speedway wrapped up its 2011 season on September 30th. In the SYRA 600 class, Chase Belcher picked up the victory while Curtis Rolando took home the title. In the SYRA 750s, Kaitlyn Donovan notched another victory but Branden Dion clinched the championship. Chris Bissell notched his first career win in the Sport Four division and Kyle Pacheco ended his rookie campaign with the championship. In the headlining division, Randy Moretti won the feature, but Bill Chouinard finished second to secure the championship by just four points.

The Seekonk Youth Racing Association 600 class rolled out first for a pair of eight lap heats. Rookie Matt Barboza led the first lap, but Chase Belcher completed the pass for the lead on lap two and held on to take the checkered flag.

            In the second heat, Brett Meservey set the pace for the first half of the race. On the fifth lap, Taylor Bowser took the lead and led the field to the finish line.

Trouble struck the SYRA 600 feature early and often. On lap two, Shelby Donovan lost control of her car and spun into the turn two grass to bring out the caution. On the ensuing restart, Matt Barboza, Taylor Bowser, and Curtis Rolando made contact in turn two and rocketed into the wall. The hard hits resulted in a red flag delay, although all drivers were ok Rolando was able to drive away. Once the race resumed, Austin Blais maintained the lead until the caution flag unfurled for Doug Meservey’s spin on the backstretch on lap twelve. Chase Belcher took the lead on the restart and opened up a two second gap for the race win. Second year driver Curtis Roland of Newport, Rhode Island, clinched the championship by taking the green flag.

In the sister division, the SYRA 750s, Nick Lascuola, former SYRA 600 champion, entered the night as points leader by four points over Branden Dion. The gap was closed to a single point following the heat races.

Marston Mills, Massachusetts, native Tylar Nailor led the field from start to finish to notch the win in the first heat. Lascuola finished fourth.

Adam Swift led the opening two laps in the second heat, but he was passed by Branden Dion who led the final six laps en route to victory.

In the feature, Swift had problems duplicating his second place heat race run. On the first lap, Swift spun across the track in turn four to bring out the yellow. Following a cancelled restart, Kaitlyn Donovan stalled entering turn one on the fifth lap to bring the action to a halt. Once again, the race was slowed to yellow flag conditions for a lap nine incident involving Tylar Nailor and Branden Dion in turn three. Leader Willy Sanchez was dropped to the tail end of the field for leading a pair of illegal restarts, so Kaitlyn Donovan inherited the lead. When Donovan crossed the line as race winner, Branden Dion finished second, four spots ahead of Nick Lascuola, thus vaulting Dion ahead in points and giving the Taunton native the SYRA 750 title.

The Sport Four division entered the night with one of the closest battles at “The Action Track of the East.” John Lamake, despite having never won a race, led Kyle Pacheco by one point, Dave Westgate Jr. by six points, and Ed Gould by seven points.

Taylor Therrien stole the show from the points contenders in the opening heat, leading all eight laps despite missing first gear. Lamake finished second and Westgate finished fifth.

In the second eight lap heat, pole sitter Ed Gould led the field to the checkered flag, making up only a single point on Lamake. Kyle Pacheco finished second.

Chris Bissell passed pole sitter Michael Morin on the second lap, and proceeded to open up a huge gap over the field. Once Bissell’s lead extended to approximately five seconds, Robert Henry stalled in turn one and Taylor Therrien spun in turn four simultaneously to bring out the caution. On the restart, John Lamake spun into Ed Gould ending both of their championship hopes in turn one despite a valiant attempt by Lamake to prevent the spin. Chris Bissell held on in the #95 to make his first trip to the DAV Victory Lane, and Kyle Pacheco motored home in second to secure the Sport Four Championship.

The Pure Stock division rounded out the season as the main attraction. Atop the points standings, Bill Chouinard narrowly led Randy Moretti by eight points entering the night. At the conclusion of the heats, the gap shrunk to merely six points.

In the first ten lap heat, Dan Massa Jr. spun from the lead on the second lap, collecting Mark Miranda, who was entrenched in a three wide battle for second. On the restart, John Robidoux took over the lead and maintained his spot on the leaderboard until the final two laps, when he was passed by Randy Moretti. Moretti led the field to the checkered flag.

The top tandem of drivers remained unchanged in the second heat, as Tom Blackwell II notched the win with Bill Doyle following in tow. Bill Chouinard advanced to third on the final lap.

 Thirty laps was the distance for the final main event of the Fast Friday year. Keri Lynn Manfredo spun on lap two in turn one to bring out the caution, and again in turn two on lap seven although on that occasion the race stayed green. The following lap, Mark Miranda and Tim DerMarderosian tangled in turn two. Two laps later on the restart, Jeremy Lambert spun and was rammed by Dan Massa Jr., who was temporarily blinded by his hood, which popped open onto the windshield. While climbing through the field from dead last on the grid, Bill Chouinard was tagged by Amy Heroux on lap twelve and nearly spun in the first turn, but made the save of the season to keep the car pointed straight. After a pair of spins by DerMarderosian and Manfredo on laps fifteen and twenty one, Randy Moretti climbed to the lead and Bill Chouinard moved to second. With five to go, Heroux spun exiting turn four to set up a short sprint to the finish. Randy Moretti held off Chouinard for the race win, but Chouinard held on by four points to retire from the Seekonk Speedway as the Pure Stock champion.

Author: gailp

Share This Post On