Chouinard back in Pure Stock Winners Circle, Kyle Pacheco wins Sport4 main. Ryan Bigelow wins NEMA Lite feature, while Taylor Bowser and Branden Dion with SYRA features.

September 16th at “The Action Track of the East,” Seekonk Speedway’s “Fast Friday” returned for the penultimate round of the season. In the features, Taylor Bowser, Kyle Pacheco, Branden Dion, Ryan Bigelow, and Bill Chouinard all notched victories in the SYRA 600, Sport Four, SYRA 750, NEMA Lites, and Pure Stock divisions.

                                In the twenty lap SYRA 600 feature, Doug Meservey Jr. led the first two laps before being passed by his brother Brett on lap three. On the fourth lap, a three car spin in turn two involving Chase Belcher, Shelby Donovan, and Doug Meservey brought out the caution flag for the first and only time. On the restart, Taylor Bowser took the lead and hung on to beat out Curtis Rolando for the victory.

                The Sport Four feature was contested over twenty laps. Chris Bissell snapped his tie rod from the lead on lap eight, but stopped his car inches away from the wall in turn two, saving the car from any further damage but unfurling the caution flag. On the restart, Ed Gould stalled his machine once again, resulting in the caution flag being waved. Rich Sprague passed John Lamake for the lead once the green flag waved, but the caution light illuminated the track once more following Ed Gould’s stall on the front stretch. Gould’s problems opened the door for Dave Westgate Jr., who entered the night tied with Gould in points. However, Westgate brought out the caution on the restart after befalling the same fate as Gould in turn two. Once the drivers took the green flag, rookies Rich Sprague and Kyle Pacheco duked it out for the lead, with the #3 of Pacheco eventually taking the checkered flag for the first time in his career.

                The top three for the NEMA Lites remained relatively unchanged for the duration of the feature. Ryan Bigelow started on the pole and led Brandon Igo and Bethany Stoehr for the first twenty two laps. On lap twenty three, Kenny Johnson spun on the back stretch to bring out the yellow. Christian Briggs spun in between turns three and four to bring out the yellow once again. On the restart, Bigelow pulled away from Brandon Igo and Seth Carlson for the win.

                Adam Swift had some control issues continued in the feature, where he spun in turn two to bring out the caution. Swift spun again on lap nine, bringing out the caution. Tylar Nailor lead the race, battling with Nick Lascuola for the top spot. Lascuola made contact with Nailor in turn four, spinning Nailor and bringing out the caution. Nailor sped around the track and gave Lascuola a tap on the bumped, resulting in his disqualification. Lascuola moved to the tail end of the field. After another Swift spin in turn four, Branden Dion assumed the lead and won the race, edging closer to points leader Nick Lascuola.

                On lap two of the twenty five lap feature, trouble afflicted Jesse Melberg and Melissa Charette, who spun and made contact in turn two. On lap twenty, Keri Lynn Manfredo spun into the backstretch grass to set up a five lap sprint to the finish. Behind leader Bill Chouinard, John Robidoux and Amy Heroux got together in turn four to force another caution. Once the race restarted, Chouinard extended his lead over Randy Moretti and Bob Hinckley to cruise into victory lane for the third time in 2011.