In a race to become the first entry for the 7th annual Modified Madness, as part of Seekonk Speedway’s Open Wheel Wednesday, Kirk Alexander and Dave Berghman finished in a dead heat. As Alexander’s entry was being received by mail, Berghman’s entry was being delivered by hand.            

                   Kirk has picked up a few wins at Seekonk with the Valenti Modified Racing Series, making him one of the most successful modified series drivers in the past 10 years at Seekonk. His biggest win was the 2006 Modified Madness, when he bested a 24 car field for the $10,000 pay day.

                Dave Berghman has raced at Seekonk since he was old enough to see over the steering wheel, and has become one of the premier car builders in the area. Dave has one Modified win at The Konk, picking up the DAV Fall Classic in 2006 for the Valenti Modified Series. Both drivers have surrounded themselves with teams that are ready to return to Seekonk Victory Lane.

                Open Wheel Wednesday started in 2005, when 2-time NASCAR Modified Tour Champion Donny Lia took home the $10,000 winners purse in a last lap pass. Alexander followed in 2006. 6 time Seekonk Speedway Champion Vinnie Annarummo won in 2007, with Matt Hirschman following in 2008. Chris Pasteryak picked up the win in 2009, giving Wayne Darling the distinction of the only repeat winner of this prestigious event, being the car owner for Hirschman and Pasteryak. Todd Annarummo picked up his first career modified win in 2010, continuing the Annarummo legacy at The Action Track of the East.

                In addition to the Modified Madness 100, the NEMA Midgets will be visiting the track where it all began for the first time this season. The Pro4 Modifieds will also be a part of the Open Wheel Wednesday.

                The 2011 version of Open Wheel Wednesday will be on July 20. Adult admission is just $25.00, and tickets can be purchased in advance by visiting